Honorary Fellowship – F.SICM


Chris Dawes with second recipient of an F.SICM, Dr. Fred Graham

In 2009, SICM’s 40th anniversary year, composer, Mark Sirett, wrote and dedicated his anthem, Bwana Asafiwe!/Make a Joyful Noise, to SICM Director Emeritus, Dr. Kenneth Inkster, and donated proceeds from its sale by Kelman Hall Publishing of Music Plus (Kitchener, Ontario) to SICM’s ongoing work. Inspired by Dr. Sirett’s example, the SICM Board of Governors voted unanimously to confer every two years an honorary Fellowship of the Summer Institute of Church Music – F.SICM – upon an individual who, like Dr. Inkster, had given deeply of him or herself to church music in Canada. Moreover, a Canadian composer would be approached to honour that individual by offering or composing an anthem or other sacred choral work that would be published by Kelman Hall Publishing and performed in the presence of the honouree by the SICM Chorale at its public choral concert at the close of the annual Institute week in Whitby, Ontario.


F.SICM Practice and Criteria

Every odd-numbered year SICM’s Board of Governors’ Nominating Committee undertakes to identify an individual conforming for recognition as a Fellow of the Summer Institute of Church Music. As part of conferring this honour, SICM approaches a composer to submit a score for consideration, with the understanding that the score will be dedicated to an intended laureate of the F.SICM designation and that the composer will abide by whatever requirements necessary for publication by Kelman Hall Publishing.

The honoree will be an individual who has pursued training, employment and ministry in church music in a deep and personally-transformative way. The individual will also have made a significant impact on the study, practice or condition of church music in Canada over the course of his or her career. Specific connection to the Summer Institute of Church Music is not required and shall not be considered by the Nominating Committee in determining candidates for this honour.

The composer, having demonstrated a personal interest in and an aptitude for composing sacred music, will be selected for proposal to Kelman Hall Publishing based on professional credentials, the Nominating Committee’s knowledge of their work, for their own possible connection to the intended appointee and also in consideration of the ability of the work to be published within the Kelman Hall Publishing framework. Specific connection to the Summer Institute of Church Music is not required and shall not be considered by the Nominating Committee in determining any composers contributing pieces.

2015-07-09-22-14-26_4some2015 Recipient:     Winnifred Sim
Anthem created in her honour:    Be Thou My Vision by Jeff Enns

2013 Recipient:    Ruth Watson Henderson
Anthem created in her honour:   And as I wake by Stephanie Martin, text from Il Penserero by John Milton

2011 Recipient:  Dr. Fred Kimball Graham
Anthem created in his honour:  There is no Rose of Such Virtue by Anne Mizen-Baker, text anonymous (14th century)
(Honorary Fellowship conferred in 2012)

2009 Recipient:  Dr. Kenneth Willard Inkster
Anthem created in his honour:   Bwana Afafiwe!/Make a Joyful Noise by Mark Sirett, text from Psalm 90
(Honorary Fellowship conferred in 2013)