2014 Osborne Competition committee and competitors Back: Chris Dawes, Fred Graham, David Palmer Front: David Simon, Matthew Whitfield, Stephen Boda

SICM’s 23rd Osborne Organ Competition culminated Tuesday, July 8th 2014 in the final round at St. George’s Anglican Church in Oshawa.

The jury, chaired by David Palmer and including Fred Graham and Christopher Dawes, ultimately awarded First Prize to Stephen Boda, and shared Second Prize between Matthew Whitfield and David Simon.



Stephen Boda
Winner of 2014 Osborne Competition

Osborne Competition winner:

Stephen Boda

Concerned with the standard of hymn-playing in recent competitions, and wanting to encourage competitors to focus more on service-playing skills, alongside their repertoire selections, the SICM Board expanded the hymn-playing requirement of the final round effective this year (2014) to include a short improvisation and the accompanying of a cantor.

The Board extends its thanks to all Competition entrants, the three finalists, the jury members, and to Susan Baus who served as Cantor.